School of Dentistry news and stories from around campus.

Good Vibrations at CDA San Francisco

As is its practice, the School of Dentistry sent a contingent to the annual “California Dental Association Presents” in San Francisco (August 20-22).

Home Vent patients treated by LLUSD pediatric residents

Shortly before this year’s May 2015 commencement exercises, Dr. Mariam Ischander, MD, pediatric pulmonologist and director of the LLUH Home Vent Clinic, asked Bonnie Nelson, DDS’88, chair, Department of Pediatric Dentistry, if the residents from the Advanced Specialty Education Program in Pediatric Dentistry could provide her special needs patients with dental care.

The Temporomandibular Joint painstakingly elucidated by LLUSD faculty duo in new eBook

The Temporomandibular Joint: Structure, Function and Dysfunction is a comprehensive, evidence-based synthesis of scientific knowledge regarding the joint formed by the lower jaw and the temporal bone of the skull written by Loma Linda University School of Dentistry faculty Edwin L. Christiansen, DDS, Odont. Dr, and Charles J. Goodacre, DDS, MSD. Contributing authors, Kenneth Abramovitch, DDS, MSD, and Dwight D. Rice, DDS, added a generously illustrated chapter entitled, “Temporomandibular Joint Advanced Imaging” that includes MRI movies of normal and abnormal joint function. Dr.

Alumnus earns prestigious fellow accreditation

LLU School of Dentistry alumnus Nicholas C. Davis, DDS’73, recently earned the Accredited Fellow certification from the American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry (AACD) and was recognized for the achievement on May 9 at the AACD 2015 Annual Scientific Session in San Francisco. Dr. Davis is one of only two dentists in Orange County to achieve board certification in cosmetic dentistry.   Dr.

LLU designates Charles Goodacre

Colleagues, friends, and family gathered July 9, 2015, in the Santa Barbara Room of Riverside’s Mission Inn to celebrate with Charles Goodacre, DDS’71, MSD, his designation by Loma Linda University as Distinguished Professor at the School of Dentistry. The special merit rank is awarded to a full-time faculty member who has made distinguished contributions in teaching, research, publication, or creative work.   L-R: Joseph Kan, DDS, MS’96, professor, Advanced Education Program in Implant Dentistry; Dr.

LLU School of Dentistry alumni journal has a new name

It will be a relief to those holding their breath since April 20 that a new name for the School of Dentistry’s alumni journal finally has been chosen. “[D]esigned to inform alumni, faculty, students, and other interested individuals regarding current School programs, events, and activities and accomplishments of faculty, students and alumni,” the alumni journal was launched in very early 1988 as Dentistry, under the founding editorship of Leif K.

LLUSD graduate receives Charles E. Weniger Society Scholarship Award

2015 LLU School of Dentistry doctor of dental surgery graduate Laura Sherwin is one of three annual recipients of the Charles E. Weniger Society Scholarship Award.   Dr. Laura Sherwin The Society awards annual Weniger Student Scholarships to attendees of accredited North American Seventh-day Adventist colleges and universities who have demonstrated excellence in spirituality, academics, civic service, and leadership. The scholarship is matched or exceeded by the recipient’s school. Before receiving her DDS degree in May this year, Dr.

LLUSD professors produce major eBook contribution to single implant pedagogy

Loma Linda University School of Dentistry prosthodontists, Distinguished Professor, Charles J. Goodacre, DDS, MSD, and faculty colleague, Professor W. Patrick Naylor, DDS, MPH, MS, are co-editors of Single Implants and Their Restoration: From Diagnosis to Maintenance, the first eBook published (February 2015) by the Foundation for Oral Rehabilitation (FOR) of Lucerne, Switzerland.      Drs. Charles Goodacre                            Dr.
The five new MAGD recipients (L-R):

Five LLUSD alumni achieve Master of General Dentistry Award

Five LLUSD alumni were awarded the Academy of General Dentistry’s highest honor—Master of General Dentistry—June 19, 2015, at Moscone West Convention Center in San Francisco.   The five new MAGD recipients (L-R):   Peter Young, DDS’88 Roger Sohn, DDS’75A Darryl Tkachyk, DDS’02 Benjamin Seaton, DDS’02 Jason Ballou, DDS’02. In a statistical oddity, all five LLUSD awardees practice dentistry in the Golden State. The Master of General Dentistry is the highest award offered by the Academy of General Dentistry (AGD).

Patrick Naylor receives Gustav O. Kruger Award

W. Patrick Naylor, DDS, MPH, MS, professor of restorative dentistry and former associate dean for Advanced Specialty Dental Education at the Loma Linda University School of Dentistry, was honored May 30, 2015, to receive the Gustav O. Kruger Lifetime Achievement in Dentistry Award from the Dental Alumni Board of Georgetown University at the 2015 Dental Alumni Reunion and Awards Dinner held at the Mayflower Hotel in Washington, DC.