School of Dentistry news and stories from around campus.

Tom Rogers: surfer, humanitarian, lifelong learner

The LLUH Board of Trustees honored Tom Rogers, DDS’83, MPH’96, MA, professor and director, Faculty and Leadership Development, on May 24, 2016, with special recognition for his 18-year endeavor to educate LLUSD dental students on best practices for providing oral health care safely and compassionately to dental patients with HIV-AIDS. His efforts include 14 years directing the $300,000 annual Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) grant in support of teaching future providers how to best serve this at-risk population. Dr.

Jacobs and Thakker newly inducted ACS fellows

Murray Jacobs, DDS, assistant professor, Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, and Jayini Thakker, DDS, MD, program director, Advanced Specialty Education Program in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, were inducted as fellows of the American College of Surgeons (ACS) during the College’s 2016 Convocation Ceremony on Sunday, October 16, at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in Washington, D.C.   Dr. Murray Jacobs Dr.
Dr. Yiming Li

CDR passes FDA audit with flying colors

Yiming Li, DDS, PhD, MSD, associate dean for Research, and director, Center for Dental Research (CDR), received a letter (05/09/2016) from the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) on Department of Health & Human Services stationery, regarding an FDA “inspection conducted at your site (1/13/2016-1/19/2016).” Dr. Yiming Li The CDR conducts multiple clinical studies annually, which include FDA clinical trials that are subject to inspection by the FDA.

Dean's List – Autumn Quarter 2016

Dentistry Class of 2020 Jae Chung, Lucas DiCiccio, Spencer Gibbs, Matthew Green, Michael Henriksen, Kent Horsley, Joanna Koo, Joshua Lee, George Messiah, Matthew Narita, Hung Nguyen, Marytza Rios Gonzalez, Jordan Smith, Eric Stratton, Luke Taylor, Anthony Traboulsi, Clayton Tran, Brittany Watu, George Wong, Andrew Yoon Dentistry Class of 2019 Namo Asadamongkol, Nadia Barakat, Jason Bendas, Caitlin Berwick, Michael Chan, Aaron Charpentier, Anna Chavez, Matt Doan, Julia Dolinskiy, Kristina Fernandez, Philip Ha, Luke Harbach, Helen Jia, Craig Johnson, Shevanthi Johnson, Mawj Kadokana, Su
Dr. Clelan "Butch" Ehrler

LLUSD alum Clelan Ehrler assumes CDA presidency

Loma Linda University School of Dentistry alumnus Clelan “Butch” Ehrler, DDS’68, MS’71 (orthodontics), will be California Dental Association president beginning January 1, 2017. Dr. Clelan "Butch" Ehrler Dr. Ehrler succeeds immediate past CDA president, Ken Wallis, DDS’86. Dr. Ehrler has held numerous CDA leadership positions that include CDA board of trustees executive committee, the TDIC board of directors, and various committees that include peer review, California Dental Political Action Committee (CalDPAC), finance, and steering. Beyond the degrees he earned at LLUSD, Dr.

Pediatric Dentistry residents’ perfect record

Pediatric residents from the LLUSD class of 2015—Drs. Ava Chung, Adi Genish, Pooyan Nasibi, and Minh-Ky Young—all passed their oral clinical board examination in September 2016 and became diplomates of the American Board of Pediatric Dentistry. Back row (L-R): pediatric resident dentists Drs. Pooyan Nasibi, Ryan Baker, Amanda Zenthoefer, and Minh-Ky Young. Front row (L-R): Class of 2015 pediatric resident dentists Drs. Luz Adriana Cuellar, Ava Chung, Xuan Lam, and Adi Genish bracket Dr.
Dr. Zhe Zhong

Zhe Zhong joins CDR faculty

Zhe Zhong, DDS, PhD, joined the LLUSD faculty July 3, 2016, as assistant professor at the School’s Center for Dental Research. Dr. Zhe Zhong Dr. Zhong earned her DDS degree in 2005 from Capital Medical University in Beijing, China, and her PhD in 2010 from the Department of Orthodontics, School and Hospital of Stomatology, Peking University. Dr.
Dr. Sue Spackman

Sue Spackman inducted as ICD Fellow

Dr. Sue Spackman, DDS, associate professor, Division of General Dentistry, was inducted as a Fellow of the International College of Dentists (ICD) at its 87th Annual Convocation in Denver, Colorado on October 21, 2016. Margaret M. Culotta-Norton, DDS, president, USA Section, International College of Dentists (left) stands with Dr. Spackman at her Fellowship induction. An honorary organization for the recognition of outstanding and meritorious service to the profession and community, ICD presented Dr.
Dr. Anupama Grandhi

Anupama Grandhi joins OMFS

Anupama Grandhi, DDS, joined the LLUSD faculty in May, 2016 as assistant professor, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, and assistant professor (School of Medicine), Pathology and Human Anatomy. Dr. Anupama Grandhi Dr. Grandhi earned a Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS) degree in 2002 from Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences in India and then her DDS from University of Southern California, Los Angeles, in 2006. Upon graduation from dental school, she moved to Cleveland, Ohio, where she practiced privately as an associate dentist and managing clinic director until 2009.