The five new MAGD recipients (L-R):
By Anonymous - June 22, 2015

Five LLUSD alumni were awarded the Academy of General Dentistry’s highest honor—Master of General Dentistry—June 19, 2015, at Moscone West Convention Center in San Francisco.

The five new MAGD recipients (L-R):


  • Peter Young, DDS’88
  • Roger Sohn, DDS’75A
  • Darryl Tkachyk, DDS’02
  • Benjamin Seaton, DDS’02
  • Jason Ballou, DDS’02.

In a statistical oddity, all five LLUSD awardees practice dentistry in the Golden State.

The Master of General Dentistry is the highest award offered by the Academy of General Dentistry (AGD). It is a professional designation beyond AGD “Fellowship” that reflects a general dentist’s ongoing commitment to provide quality care through continuing education.

To achieve the Mastership, a dentist must earn the AGD Fellowship Award and complete 1,100 hours of dental continuing education. The LLUSD alumni recipients were among 144 dentists to be honored in 2015 with the Mastership Award.