A Seventh-day Adventist Organization


Torabinejad honored with fourth AAE award

Mahmoud Torabinejad, DMD, MSD, PhD, professor and director, Advanced Specialty Education Program in Endodontics, has been recognized by his colleagues at the 2016 American Association of Endodontists (AAE) meetings (April 8 in San Francisco’s Moscone Center) with the Edgar D. Coolidge Award—the Association’s highest honor reserved for a limited group of individuals who serve as role models for the entire endodontic community.

So Ran Kwon assumes reigns of student research

So Ran Kwon, DDS, MS, PhD, MS, associate professor, Dental Education Services, has been appointed director of LLUSD’s student research. Dr. Kwon, who previously worked with LLUSD research students (August 2011 to May 2013), recently completed a three-year program at the University of Iowa’s College of dentistry and Dental Clinics, where she earned American Board Certification in Operative Dentistry. Serving as an associate professor on the UI operative dentistry faculty, Dr.

Dean's List - Spring Quarter 2016

Dentistry Class of 2019

Namo Asadamongkol, Nadia Barakat, Jason Bendas, Caitlin Berwick, Michael Chan, Aaron Charpentier, Anna Chavez, Matt Doan, Natasha Elloway, Kristina Fernandez, Philip Ha, Luke Harbach, Helen Jia, Shevanthi Johnson, Mawj Kadokana, Sumin Kang, Brent Kim, Henry Kim, Gary Laborada, Schuler Luce, Spencer Nielsen, Ellen Oh, Lauren Opsahl, Krystal Park, Ben Radlein, Cole Scott, James Skahen, Danna Tamayo, Kelly Torres, Chanica Veranunt, Nick Wright, Rebecca Yang, Alexander Zaykov

Dentistry Class of 2018

LLUSD celebrates 40 years of implant dentistry

Loma Linda University School of Dentistry’s Advanced Education Program in Implant Dentistry celebrated 40 years of service April 3 and 4, 2016, with a two-day symposium at the Damazo Amphitheater of LLU’s Centennial Complex entitled “Anterior Implant Esthetics: Preservation vs Regeneration.”

IDP 2016 triumphs on boards

For two consecutive years (and three of the last six), each member of the graduating classes of the LLUSD International Dentistry Program has passed either the Western Regional Exam Board (WREB) or the North East Regional Board (NERB) on their first attempt.

Steven Morrow, president, Dental Board of California

Image of Morrow
Steven Morrow

Steven G. Morrow, DDS’60, MS, assistant dean, Office of Advanced Education, and professor, Department of Endodontics, assumed the office of president, Dental Board of California, on January 1, 2016.

Appointed to the Dental Board by then Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger in 2010, Dr. Morrow was elected secretary of the Dental Board in 2013.