A Seventh-day Adventist Organization


Wayne K. Tanaka retires

Wayne K. Tanaka, DDS, associate professor, Department of OMFS, concluded a 23-year teaching relationship with LLUSD on July 31, 2016. As a Diplomate, American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Dr. Tanaka was the School’s predoctoral program director for Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery from 1998 to 2014.

Dr. Wayne Tanaka

LLUSD student researchers exhibit investigatory ethos

The student research program at LLUSD encourages active participation in the AADR National Student Research Group (NSRG). The School’s NSRG councilor, Marianne Demirdji (D4), and SRG representative, Trisha Aprecio (D2), participated in the 2016 NSRG breakfast on March 18 at the Los Angeles Convention Center. The discussion focused on ways the NSRG can help local school SRGs encourage research activity and strengthen their relationships with national organizations.

LLUSD faculty members receive ADEA appointments

A contingent of twenty-nine faculty members and students from the LLU School of Dentistry attended the 2016 ADEA annual meeting in Denver March 12-15.

Several LLU School of Dentistry educators have significant roles with the American Dental Education Association.

Torabinejad honored with fourth AAE award

Mahmoud Torabinejad, DMD, MSD, PhD, professor and director, Advanced Specialty Education Program in Endodontics, has been recognized by his colleagues at the 2016 American Association of Endodontists (AAE) meetings (April 8 in San Francisco’s Moscone Center) with the Edgar D. Coolidge Award—the Association’s highest honor reserved for a limited group of individuals who serve as role models for the entire endodontic community.

So Ran Kwon assumes reigns of student research

So Ran Kwon, DDS, MS, PhD, MS, associate professor, Dental Education Services, has been appointed director of LLUSD’s student research. Dr. Kwon, who previously worked with LLUSD research students (August 2011 to May 2013), recently completed a three-year program at the University of Iowa’s College of dentistry and Dental Clinics, where she earned American Board Certification in Operative Dentistry. Serving as an associate professor on the UI operative dentistry faculty, Dr.

Dean's List - Spring Quarter 2016

Dentistry Class of 2019

Namo Asadamongkol, Nadia Barakat, Jason Bendas, Caitlin Berwick, Michael Chan, Aaron Charpentier, Anna Chavez, Matt Doan, Natasha Elloway, Kristina Fernandez, Philip Ha, Luke Harbach, Helen Jia, Shevanthi Johnson, Mawj Kadokana, Sumin Kang, Brent Kim, Henry Kim, Gary Laborada, Schuler Luce, Spencer Nielsen, Ellen Oh, Lauren Opsahl, Krystal Park, Ben Radlein, Cole Scott, James Skahen, Danna Tamayo, Kelly Torres, Chanica Veranunt, Nick Wright, Rebecca Yang, Alexander Zaykov

Dentistry Class of 2018

LLUSD celebrates 40 years of implant dentistry

Loma Linda University School of Dentistry’s Advanced Education Program in Implant Dentistry celebrated 40 years of service April 3 and 4, 2016, with a two-day symposium at the Damazo Amphitheater of LLU’s Centennial Complex entitled “Anterior Implant Esthetics: Preservation vs Regeneration.”