A Seventh-day Adventist Organization


Tom Rogers: surfer, humanitarian, lifelong learner

The LLUH Board of Trustees honored Tom Rogers, DDS’83, MPH’96, MA, professor and director, Faculty and Leadership Development, on May 24, 2016, with special recognition for his 18-year endeavor to educate LLUSD dental students on best practices for providing oral health care safely and compassionately to dental patients with HIV-AIDS. His efforts include 14 years directing the $300,000 annual Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) grant in support of teaching future providers how to best serve this at-risk population.

Jacobs and Thakker newly inducted ACS fellows

Murray Jacobs, DDS, assistant professor, Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, and Jayini Thakker, DDS, MD, program director, Advanced Specialty Education Program in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, were inducted as fellows of the American College of Surgeons (ACS) during the College’s 2016 Convocation Ceremony on Sunday, October 16, at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in Washington, D.C.

LLUSD receives E. “Bud” Tarrson Dental School Student Community Leadership Award

For the third year in a row LLUSD has won the $5,000 E. “Bud” Tarrson Dental School Student Community Leadership Award from the ADA Foundation, in recognition for its excellence in providing oral healthcare services to underserved populations.

Kyle Leis, D3, is assisted at the Compassion Clinic by Azusa Pacific University nursing students.

CDR passes FDA audit with flying colors

Yiming Li, DDS, PhD, MSD, associate dean for Research, and director, Center for Dental Research (CDR), received a letter (05/09/2016) from the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) on Department of Health & Human Services stationery, regarding an FDA “inspection conducted at your site (1/13/2016-1/19/2016).”

Dr. Yiming Li

Dean's List – Autumn Quarter 2016

Dentistry Class of 2020

Jae Chung, Lucas DiCiccio, Spencer Gibbs, Matthew Green, Michael Henriksen, Kent Horsley, Joanna Koo, Joshua Lee, George Messiah, Matthew Narita, Hung Nguyen, Marytza Rios Gonzalez, Jordan Smith, Eric Stratton, Luke Taylor, Anthony Traboulsi, Clayton Tran, Brittany Watu, George Wong, Andrew Yoon

Dentistry Class of 2019

LLUSD alum Clelan Ehrler assumes CDA presidency

Loma Linda University School of Dentistry alumnus Clelan “Butch” Ehrler, DDS’68, MS’71 (orthodontics), will be California Dental Association president beginning January 1, 2017.

Dr. Clelan "Butch" Ehrler

Dr. Ehrler succeeds immediate past CDA president, Ken Wallis, DDS’86.

Pediatric Dentistry residents’ perfect record

Pediatric residents from the LLUSD class of 2015—Drs. Ava Chung, Adi Genish, Pooyan Nasibi, and Minh-Ky Young—all passed their oral clinical board examination in September 2016 and became diplomates of the American Board of Pediatric Dentistry.

Zhe Zhong joins CDR faculty

Zhe Zhong, DDS, PhD, joined the LLUSD faculty July 3, 2016, as assistant professor at the School’s Center for Dental Research.

Dr. Zhe Zhong

Dr. Zhong earned her DDS degree in 2005 from Capital Medical University in Beijing, China, and her PhD in 2010 from the Department of Orthodontics, School and Hospital of Stomatology, Peking University.

Sue Spackman inducted as ICD Fellow

Dr. Sue Spackman, DDS, associate professor, Division of General Dentistry, was inducted as a Fellow of the International College of Dentists (ICD) at its 87th Annual Convocation in Denver, Colorado on October 21, 2016.

Margaret M. Culotta-Norton, DDS, president, USA Section, International College of Dentists (left) stands with Dr. Spackman at her Fellowship induction.

Anupama Grandhi joins OMFS

Anupama Grandhi, DDS, joined the LLUSD faculty in May, 2016 as assistant professor, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, and assistant professor (School of Medicine), Pathology and Human Anatomy.

Dr. Anupama Grandhi